Book Review: Captivated by You by Sylvia Day

cbyGideon calls me his angel, but he’s the miracle in my life. My gorgeous, wounded warrior, so determined to slay my demons while refusing to face his own.

The vows we’d exchanged should have bound us tighter than blood and flesh. Instead they opened old wounds, exposed pain and insecurities, and lured bitter enemies out of the shadows. I felt him slipping from my grasp, my greatest fears becoming my reality, my love tested in ways I wasn’t sure I was strong enough to bear.

At the brightest time in our lives, the darkness of his past encroached and threatened everything we’d worked so hard for. We faced a terrible choice: the familiar safety of the lives we’d had before each other or the fight for a future that suddenly seemed an impossible and hopeless dream…

 

Buy Captivated by You

Amazon US

Amazon UK

rev

Although Eva and Gideon finally tied the knot in book 3, I expected this book to be all about how they would proceed as a couple as well as tying up the loose ends (and there are a lot!) While indeed, some of the events were revisited, there was certainly a lack of satisfactory conclusions. Some of the events seemed to be brushed over altogether while others were nonexistent, but hopefully will be dealt with in the next book.

All fans of this series will know that the books are based heavily on the emotional growth of the two main characters however, in my view, Captivated by You sorely lacked any plot and there was very little in forward movement of the characters and how they act and feel toward each other.

The dual POV excited me, however, as much as I wanted to (and I really REALLY wanted to) I couldn’t connect with Gideon. The emotional pull just wasn’t there. I am a huge fan of dual POV, in fact when I’m hunting for my next good read this is one of the things I look for. In saying that, it did add a new dimension to the story and many were quite satisfied with the results, I just wasn’t one of them. I have loved embarking on Eva and Gideon’s journey with them and I love both of the characters however I feel the addition of Gideon’s POV could have been executed better and was detrimental to the image I held of him. I have to say, I missed being inside Eva’s head.

There were elements to the story that I loved. We get to find out a bit more about the aftermath of the events that changed Gideon when he was younger leading to an explosive moment that was written beautifully. We also gain a better understanding of why Gideon behaves the way he does.  In addition to this we are given a better insight into Gideon’s friends, which is just a nice touch. There are also some really fun scenes that I enjoyed and would like more of in the next book. I took great pleasure in reading the moments where they were surrounded by their friends, having fun, without the doom and gloom.

As the 4th installment in the Crossfire series, I had high expectations for this novel. I loved the previous three – devoured them, and waited patiently for this book to be released. However, I am sad to say that I was disappointed but I am hopeful that book 5 will be of the same quality as 1, 2 and 3. As with all my reviews, this is entirely subjective.

A heavyhearted 3/5

Winged_Heart__Anim___DOWNLOAD__by_MaskOfVirtueWinged_Heart__Anim___DOWNLOAD__by_MaskOfVirtueWinged_Heart__Anim___DOWNLOAD__by_MaskOfVirtue

A-Girl-In-Heart

Leave a Reply

