Book Review: Breaking Noah by Missy Johnson & Ashley Suzanne

bnWhat happens when you start falling for your worst enemy? Fans of Abbi Glines and Monica Murphy will relish this addictive novel of smoking-hot seduction—and revenge gone so wrong, it’s right.

I wasn’t always this jaded. I had a clear head, things I wanted out of life, and a concise plan on how to get there. For being only twenty-one, I pretty much had it all figured out. Until the day my cousin died.

I spent months going over all the details surrounding her death, trying to figure out how I missed the signs, and the only thing I could come up with was she would still be alive if it wasn’t for one person: her professor. So I transferred to his college, enrolled in his class, and set my new plan in motion.

First I’ll seduce him. Then I’ll ruin him. I’ve just got to stay strong and not let his charm and my emotions get the best of me. Because someone has to pay for her death. If it’s the last thing I do, I’m going to break Noah.

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

Add-to-Goodreads-Button

 

 

Buy Links

amazoncom

amazonuk

rev

An Arc was received from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Zara had a great life. With great grades and well on her way to gaining the grades she needs to study law, everything was going her way. Until her cousin and best friend, Karly committed suicide. Karly sends one note prior to taking her life. A note that reveals she was pregnant and the father of her baby was less than impressed. Fuelled by rage and an intense need to find justice for Karly’s death, Zara hatches a plan. Find the man responsible for the death of her friend, Noah Bain, and destroy him.

Noah is an English Lit professor. After a hard year in which one of his students took her own life, Noah feels the need to make sure that nothing like that ever happens again.

When Zara breezes into Noah’s class half way through the semester, Noah has the gut feeling that something is off. All of Zara’s transcripts indicate she was working toward law as her major, so why has she suddenly changed it to English Lit, moreover why has she moved at such a strange time, and, having missed out on a room at the College—where is she staying?

As Noah’s concern leads him to Zara’s door, he’s unwittingly playing into her hands. Brick by brick, Zara lowers his defenses until she has him exactly where she wants him.

But things aren’t as they seem. Everything Zara think she knows starts to no longer make sense. Noah is sweet, caring and hot as hell and she finds herself struggling to keep at bay the feelings beginning to develop for him. And as missing pieces of the puzzle start to click together—Zara realizes she’s in way over her head.

The complexities of this book – where to start? Zara is hell set on revenge and determined to destroy Noah. From the moment her chapters begin, it’s apparent that she’s really struggling to deal with Karly’s death. She’s withdrawn, doesn’t make friends and her behavior screams crazy. She throws herself at Noah, although I think she thought she was being subtle – she really wasn’t. Although her intentions are admirable – to get justice for her friend, the way she goes about it leaves a lot to be desired. That is not to say that this was a negative part of the book, on the contrary, Zara is messed up and her actions show that.

I found Noah a bit of a bore. He is sweet and he does try to keep everyones best interests at heart, but he just didn’t float my boat. Also, the bossy side of him during sex just did not, in any way, tie into his personality.
The plot is really good and the book is written really well. There are a few twists and turns along the way, although I think they were a little obvious. Some parts of it were just too brushed under the carpet, for example Noah and his girlfriend’s relationship. I didn’t fall in love with either of the characters and the ending was a little too easy for my liking. 3/5

Winged_Heart__Anim___DOWNLOAD__by_MaskOfVirtueWinged_Heart__Anim___DOWNLOAD__by_MaskOfVirtueWinged_Heart__Anim___DOWNLOAD__by_MaskOfVirtue

A-Girl-In-Heart

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s